Birthday treats

The second celebration of the week: my birthday.

Breakfast consisted of pastries. As hubby has to be out of the door by 7.30am it doesn’t leave a lot of time to make anything, but pastries were a nice treat! This photo is actually the leftovers which were consumed for breakfast the following day, alongside the product of one of my favourite presents: a milk frother.

Birthday breakfast
Birthday breakfast

A few weeks ago we visited one of hubby’s brothers and they have a milk frother. In fact, another of hubby’s brothers has one, too. It didn’t inspire me to get one but I was struggling for ideas. I mostly received money from family as I can then put it towards nice things if/when we move house, and a few maternity items. I think it was seeing our son making ‘tea’ using his tool bench a week or so later which made me think of getting a milk frother.

Tool kit coffee
Tool kit coffee

After some research, I went for the Dualit model because I could get it quickly in Argos rather than wait for delivery. And I’ve used it every day since! I don’t normally drink hot drinks at breakfast. I know it’s what most people do but I quite enjoy a glass of cold milk with breakfast. Plus I don’t drink caffeine so it’s not like I’m getting a morning caffeine hit if I do have tea or coffee. But every morning I have had a decaf latte-style coffee, and last night I made hubby a milkshake using the cold setting. Even though I used birthday money to buy it, I feel like I’ve splashed out on a luxury item!

Dualit milk frother
Dualit milk frother

For dinner, hubby made lamb koftas which were really yummy. I hope you appreciate his presentation…!

Lamb koftas
Lamb koftas

And then of course there was birthday cake, complete with 29 candles and some sprinkles added by our son. I almost ended up with cricket figures on it too but thankfully that was stopped. It was a chocolate cake with fudge icing. Very tasty.

Birthday cake
Birthday cake
Leave a Reply

