Early summer reading

I’ve read quite a few novels in the last few weeks:

The Hobbit, The Silmarillian, The Lord of the Rings, The Fault in Our Stars, The Age of Miracles.

I’ve had many restless nights where I couldn’t get to sleep, woke up in the middle of the night wide awake or woke up far too early, so I managed to read a lot! Now I’m enjoying reading during our son’s naps if I don’t feel I need a nap, too. And even if hubby is out of an evening, I’ve got my nose in a book.

By far the best was The Lord of the Rings. Despite being a big fan of the films, I’d never read further than Shelob’s Lair. I tried reading the books as a teenager when the films came out but I’m not a huge fan of spiders, so getting past that chapter never happened. However, I really wanted to read it so I just got on with it. That chapter wasn’t so bad in the end!

For all of those people who complain that there are too many long walks in the films – try reading the books! It takes days and days and days for them to walk anywhere in the books, and yet I didn’t get bored. I have to admit that in the films my mind starts to wander during some of the Frodo and Sam walking scenes. But there was enough description in the books to keep me going.

And for those people who think there are too many endings to The Return of the King film – try reading the book! There’s so much more than happens in the film and I can see why Peter Jackson and co. wanted to try to include different aspects of it and round up storylines. The part where Frodo leaves with the elves made me laugh because in the film there’s so much build up to it, yet in the book it gets about two pages and happens suddenly. Oh and when they get back to the Shire – I knew something about it but didn’t know who was behind it all. Ooh!

At the end of The Return of the King were appendices, which I admit I read. It’s fascinating that Tolkien imagined such a world with a rich history and so much detail.

The Age of Miracles by Karen Thompson Walker was a surprising read. It’s been on our bookshelf for a while, unread, so I thought I’d give it a go. I was pleasantly surprised. It was nothing like I’d expected – an easy summer read about love and not much content. That’s not my kind of book at all. It is easy to read but the storyline was quite a surprise. I won’t spoil it here.

I’m now turning to a few Christian books that hubby and I have been meaning to read for a while. To start, Duties of Parenting which we’re going to read a chapter of each then discuss, so I’ll need another one on the go.

Leave a Reply

