The Hobbit

Following on from my post on date night, we watched The Hobbit: Battle of the Five Armies recently on a date night. We’re a bit behind most people because we don’t really go to the cinema anymore, so for all the Hobbit movies we’ve waited for them to be available to rent online.

The Lord of the Rings films were great. I loved them. When I was 17 I was part of a Lord of the Rings day where we went to a friend’s house early one morning to watch the extended edition of the first film, followed by the extended edition of the second film, followed by a trip to the cinema to watch the recently released third film. What a day. As I said, I was 17 and probably had nothing better to do. I can’t imagine doing anything like that now.

I wasn’t as excited about the Hobbit films, perhaps because I couldn’t get my head around how they could turn a relatively short book into 3 films. But I still wanted to watch them and waited eagerly for them to be available to rent. Hubby isn’t a fan but we tend to take it in turns to choose a film to watch, so we each watch films that we don’t always enjoy. That’s love.

I quite enjoyed the first two films, even though they deviate from the book. The third film, I’m sorry to say, was disappointing. Perhaps it’s because I had recently re-read The Hobbit so it was fresh in my memory. I understand there is artistic licence for film makers, especially where Tolkien is so brief in some of his descriptions of the battle. There was a lot of additional action in the film. I just thought some of it was a bit over the top.

Anyway, I’m sure there are lots of blogs which talk about the discrepancies between film and book and people who really care about that stuff. I don’t care that much, I’m not up to speed on my Tolkien literature, but I was a bit disappointed.

I’m currently reading The Silmarillion which I haven’t read for years. I used to read a lot when I caught the tube into work every day and ploughed through lots of classics and Christian biographies. But because all this talk of the Necromancer in The Hobbit films, I thought I’d refresh my memory and start at the beginning. It’s a long and slightly confusing read because Tolkien introduces all the different peoples of Middle Earth and how they came to be, but also includes at least three different names for everything and often everyone so it’s going to take me a while to get through!

One thought on “The Hobbit”

Leave a Reply

