Raspberry crumb bars

My sister and brother-in-law stayed with us last week. I can’t tell you how lovely it was to have quality time with them, as well as have a bit of a break from playing trains with our son all the time as he wanted them to play instead!

They live abroad so we don’t see them that much, but when we do we like to do a bit of baking. I thought they probably wouldn’t want to go sugar free so I made some proper chocolatey brownies for when they arrived and then later in the week my sister and I made these raspberry crumb bars.

My sister has a Pinterest account and pins all sorts of recipes she wants to try out when she one day lives in one place for a good amount of time. I’m not. Perhaps I should join? A bit late in the day maybe… Anyway, she had these bars pinned and we had all the ingredients in so we gave them a go. We didn’t have much raspberry jam so substituted it for a home made jam my in-laws made last year and we hadn’t opened yet. We also baked it on a lower temperature and for less time as our fan oven is pretty efficient.

The bars seem to melt in your mouth. If I make them again I’ll add more jam – we didn’t weigh it out, we just spooned it onto the mix and guessed when there was enough. I’m afraid I forgot to take a photo but they are neat little bars, all the jam is contained and they’re not messy (perhaps a bit crumbly when eaten!) so they’re easy to transport. I sent the last couple with my sister and brother-in-law when they left for an easy-to-eat snack in the car!

Leave a Reply

