Latest recipe attempts

I’m really enjoying getting carried away trying new recipes all the time but I need to keep track of the ones I like so that I can keep making them! So here’s a bit of a recipe round-up of the new things I’ve tried in the last week.

Banana & coconut cookies – so very very very easy and yummy. The recipe called for just one banana and a cup of desiccated coconut, but I didn’t want to use up all of my coconut so I did half coconut, half oats, and I sprinkled a few cacao nibs on some of them. They don’t rise or spread out so can really pack them onto your baking tray. I spread them out thinly so that they crunch a bit. I love that you can use banana and oats and then whatever else you fancy to make cookies!

Banana & coconut cookies
Banana & coconut cookies (before cooking)

Banoffee pie from my Deliciously Ella recipe book – yummy! I didn’t follow the recipe exactly as I was only making it for me and I couldn’t be bothered to make it properly just for me. But I loved the contrast of the crunchy nuts, creamy almond butter and sweet dates and bananas. Hubby wouldn’t try it unless it had cream like ‘real’ banoffee pie, so I’ll have to get hold of some cream. But this now means if I fancy a treat I have a banana which is half mashed, half chopped, with chopped hazelnuts & almond butter!

As a last minute decision I also tried Ella’s giant hash brown recipe, only because I didn’t have all the ingredients in for Davina’s recipe which I still want to try. It was pretty simple, thankfully no blending required, and there were no complaints.

I’ve recently been having another attempt at ‘overnight oats’. I first tried them a few months ago and, not realising you could cook them like porridge in the morning, was quite disappointed with my cold stodgy oats. So I left it as a ‘fad’ that hadn’t worked for me. Until those cold mornings we had last week. After another look at various recipes I discovered you can cook the oats the following morning so I gave it another shot. YUMMY! Remarkably every morning I have overnight oats I am easily full until lunch and, as it’s basically porridge made in advance with a few extras, it doesn’t have to be expensive. Amazing stuff.

There are loads of recipes for overnight oats if you search on Google. As usual I’ve read a few and merged a few together. Lots of people seem to make fancy looking ones in jars but I chuck it all in a bowl, put cling film over it and then put the bowl in the microwave the following morning to save on washing up! This recipe makes quite thick oats, so reduce the amount of yoghurt and add more milk if you prefer runnier oats.

Overnight oats
Overnight oats

Overnight oats
45g oats
45g full fat natural yoghurt
20ml milk (I use ordinary cow’s milk but most recipes call for almond milk)
Fruit of your choice (options I’ve tried so far: handful fresh blueberries; handful frozen blueberries & strawberries; homemade sugar-free apple sauce & sprinkle of cinnamon)

Before you go to bed, mix all of the above in a bowl, cover with cling film and pop in the fridge. Then in the morning add a bit more milk and cook in the microwave or in a saucepan. Once cooked, stir in 1 tsp almond butter (or any other nut butter) and add nuts/seeds (pumpkin seeds, walnuts, etc).

Leave a Reply

