Deliciously Ella

20150201_152500
Deliciously Ella

On Saturday I received my copy of the first and brand new Deliciously Ella cookbook. I have been reading the Deliciously Ella blog a fair bit recently whilst looking for sugar free recipes and I decided that with some leftover Christmas money I’d buy her book. And I’m really glad I did.

Healthy lunch
Healthy lunch

Ella is a gluten-free vegan and eats an amazing array of yummy food. The book is so informative about different foods. It’s taught me so much and provided me with lots of things to try. She uses fresh ingredients, some of them pricey, some of them not pricey. It’s really inspired me in my efforts to stay sugar free, eat better and still make the odd ‘sweet’ treat.

I love her healthy lunch ideas which I’ve been giving a go using quinoa, avocado, sweet potato and pine nuts, along with whatever else is in the fridge such as bean dip or leftover beetroot from making brownies (below). It’s really yummy and feels like a huge treat, which it is as quinoa and avocados aren’t the cheapest things around so I won’t make it every week. All it takes is a bit of preparation and making the most of the oven being on for something else so you can roast some veggies for the rest of the week.

The book has also taught me a lot about the benefits of eating different nuts, grains, seeds and vegetables. I already knew some of it but to have the information in my hand rather than on the internet is brilliant for me to easily come back to. I’m a bit old-fashioned like that! Yesterday I had my hair cut and the hairdresser said the usual, ‘your hair is in lovely condition,’ but this time added, ‘you must eat well.’ Now, hairdressers are usually complimentary about the condition of my hair so it probably isn’t due to the recent changes in my diet, but I now know what foods can improve it.

20150202_121638
1kg of almond butter!

I went out and bought a giant tub of almond butter yesterday. Who needs 1kg of almond butter? Well I love the stuff, it was cheaper to buy lots of it and it appears to feature in many Deliciously Ella recipes, so I’m sure I’ll get through it before it goes off. The only problem is where to store it!

Sweet potato brownie
Sweet potato brownie

Last week I made the Deliciously Ella sweet potato brownies which were delicious, so I had a go at her glazed chilli and beetroot brownies at the weekend for my parents to try. I only glazed the first ones we ate and unfortunately they did not go down quite as well. Despite using much less chilli than the recipe suggests, hubby and my parents didn’t like the aftertaste of chilli. Due to the change in my taste buds from going sugar free, I’m happily munching my way through the rest of them though, with a spot of cream. Maybe I will stick to the sweet potato brownies in the future. If I want to share them, that is.

20150201_191745
Chilli and beetroot brownie with cream

Speaking of my parents, I am somewhat converting my mum to eating healthier! When she arrived on Friday she said she wanted to have a look at the Davina sugar free book, which she did buy for me so I’ll let her off on that one. When the Deliciously Ella book arrived she looked interested and had a read. She’s even read The Medicinal Chef: Healthy Every Day. And from each book she’s taken a few recipes for her to try when she gets home, and report back to me on the ones I’ve not tried yet. It’s exciting to see how a few changes I’ve made have encouraged her to change a few things too.

20150202_175738
Oat cookies

We made these oat cookies yesterday from the Deliciously Ella cookbook. The recipe says they need to be really thin in order to make them crunchy and they certainly do. They’re yummy and my mum’s taking a few home with her.

So I’d recommend Deliciously Ella to anyone who wants to know more about the benefits of different foods, admittedly all vegan, and try a few new recipes. Nowhere does Ella say, ‘eating vegan is the only way to eat.’ She says that if someone adds more veg to their plate then she’s happy. I’m not planning to become vegan but we’re definitely eating more veg these days.

One thought on “Deliciously Ella”

  1. I couldn’t agree more! Ella has really inspired me! I love the book, hope it brings you much more fun & yummy food 🙂 xx

Leave a Reply

