Yummy beans

Beans are brilliant. They’re cheap and good for you and our son eats them! I think my love for them is a hangover from my vegetarian days, but hey, that’s not a bad thing.

I remember reading a while ago about bean dips. In last week’s free Waitrose weekend newspaper there was an article about store cupboard ingredients. I’m a big fan of store cupboard meals. I love making things up as I go along. It mentioned using a tin of beans to make bean dip so I looked around for a recipe and took the basic idea to make this:

Bean dip
1 tin cannellini beans
2 cloves garlic, roasted (pop in oven for 10-15 mins)
lemon juice, to taste
1 tbsp olive oil
1/2 tsp Cajun seasoning
black pepper

Blend! Taste and add extra lemon juice or pepper as necessary. It makes quite a thick dip, so add some water until you get the desired consistency.

I gave our son some in a small plastic pot with some carrot sticks and he ate the lot. It stores in the fridge for a few days so I’ve got a good snack on standby!

Another way I love using beans is in bean chilli. It’s so cheap and we usually have all the ingredients, minus chorizo. I shared a rough recipe here which is my basic bean chilli recipe but it also used up leftover turkey. Yesterday I made a bulk load of bean chilli, cooked extra rice in the rice cooker (I recently rediscovered our rice cooker – love it), and made tortilla wraps. We had bean chilli with rice for dinner and then I borrowed this idea of black bean and rice freezer burritos.

20150107_194558
Ready to put burritos together

It was really easy to do! I made the tortillas with half wholemeal and half white flour and a few of them cracked when I tried to roll them up, probably slightly overcooked. When I put them in the freezer I labelled a couple of bags ‘good’ burritos and a couple of bags ‘bad’ burritos, which were cracked!

Whilst I am slightly plagued by the thought of getting ill from leftover rice, I am excited to have meals in the freezer for those days when I can’t be bothered to cook, we’ve been out all day or away for a weekend and there’s no fresh food in the fridge. A couple of minutes in the microwave and we’ll be fed!

2 thoughts on “Yummy beans”

Leave a Reply

