Cocoa power

I wanted hubby to know how much I love him and how much I missed him when he was away this week, so I thought it would be nice to make him a cake for when he came home from his work trip yesterday. A friend posted this Peekaboo Chocolate Battenburg idea on her blog recently and I thought it looked really good. So that’s what I made.

The one I made was a bit smaller as only hubby will be eating it (today is day 6 of no sugar) and I finished it with chocolate buttercream.

20141121_083438
Peekaboo Chocolate Battenburg before icing

Above is what it looked like before I put the buttercream on. You can see that the outer rings cracked a bit. I think if I’d made the original cake bigger it might have survived. After a couple of hours with a plate and a weight on top as cookingfanatic suggests, it all set into place.

This is it after icing and with a few bonus chocolate sprinkles:

20141121_085958
Peekaboo Chocolate Battenburg complete

And this is why it’s called ‘peekaboo’!

20141121_191242
Peekaboo! With hubby eating a slice in the background

He loved it. He had two slices. He even told me last night he was dreaming about it.

But whilst making it I was thinking how hypocritical I am making a sugary cake for the man I love. After I had accidentally licked a tiny piece of icing off my finger without even thinking I thought, shouldn’t I make this cake sugar-free so that my whole family benefits from a sugar-free diet?

I discovered that there is no sugar in cocoa powder, much to my delight. Although I don’t know what to do with this new knowledge. I need to do some research and see if I can make sugar-free cakes and using cocoa powder in them so I am totally deprived of chocolate. The cakes would have to taste amazing in order for hubby to eat them, though!

3 thoughts on “Cocoa power”

Leave a Reply

