Uncool TV

After my post about TV shows I realised that we don’t watch things that everyone else watches. We’ve never seen Call the Midwife, Downton Abbey or Game of Thrones. We occasionally watch Doctor Who but hubby always says it’s not as good as the old ones. We don’t even watch Strictly, The X Factor or Britain’s Got Talent, except for the odd Saturday night when I switch it on whilst waiting for hubby to join me on the sofa. It means we make a decision much faster about what we’re going to watch i.e. not one of those.

In fact, GBBO is probably the only thing we watch that we could actually have a conversation with someone about!

We have just started watching The West Wing, only 15 years after it started, because we have this free Now TV trial. That’s part of the problem – some things are on Sky and we don’t have Sky. We’re going to have to watch a lot of it if we’re going to finish it before the trial is up, or find someone with the box set.

The exception to all this is Sherlock. It is nearly a year since I was introduced to Sherlock. Somehow when the TV series originally came out it completely passed me by. But last November some friends lent me series 1 & 2 on DVD and I loved it. I really enjoyed it and I got into it at the perfect time because in less than two months I would find out how Sherlock managed to survive jumping off a building. Series 3 was a bit of a let down (bit like Spooks… maybe they stop trying by the third series?). But at least I was watching something ‘cool’ for a bit!

Leave a Reply

