Recipe plagiarism

I recently made these all-natural almond cookie bites following a recipe from a friend’s blog.

20141101_160342
All-natural almond cookie bites

I went out and found coconut oil especially for the recipe but for some reason didn’t look at what else I needed for the recipe, so I had to make do with what was in the cupboard. Thankfully we had ground almonds so I thought that would do. In order to keep it ‘all-natural’ I decided to use ground almonds instead of coconut palm sugar as we didn’t have any and I added more maple syrup for sweetness. Although it looks like I can’t count in the recipe below, I can. Again for some unknown reason, I chopped the dates before I weighed them and then decided to add them all for extra sweetness as I hadn’t added sugar. I forgot to add salt. The mix looked pretty with the red goji berries in it. And, finally, I made 10 instead of 6 because I wanted them to last longer.

I’m really terrible at following instructions! I even question whether or not some things I make are anywhere near the original recipe. But it shows baking isn’t always a precise art, and using a bit of initiative when you don’t have the right ingredients can still result in something yummy. My cookie bites remind me of a yummy almond coconut biscuit I’ve had somewhere before. They are a teeny bit crumbly but still yum yum yummy.

All-natural almond cookie bites, the cookecrumbs way…

50g coconut oil
125g ground almonds
1 tbsp maple syrup
1/2 tsp baking powder
50g cookie extras (25g dried goji berries & 30g chopped dates)

Method:

Pre-heat oven to 160C
Cream coconut oil, ground almonds and baking powder in a bowl.
Stir in maple syrup.
Add cookie extras and mix well.
If it looks dry, add a bit of water.
Mould into 10 balls and place on lined baking tray.
Bake for 12-15 mins until golden brown.
YUM!

One thought on “Recipe plagiarism”

Leave a Reply

