I cry at weddings

I do. I cry at weddings.

I didn’t cry at our wedding nor did I cry at any weddings I went to before we got married.

I only remember two weddings I went to before we got married – my uncle’s when I was 16 and some uni friends the week before ours. I went to at least one other wedding when I was very little, and I also played piano and/or organ at a few weddings when I was 18 but I didn’t know the couples.

But now I cry at weddings. Well, probably not all the weddings we’ve been to since we got married but the vast majority.

We were at the lovely wedding on Saturday of a couple from our church and hubby turned to me afterwards and asked me why I was crying during the service.

Why? It’s not because I feel sad for the couple entering into marriage. It’s for these reasons:

1) I love being married so I am immensely happy for the couple. I really do love being married. I think it’s amazing. I love having hubby there for me for cuddles, for laughs, for playing with our son, for being silly, for being ‘the man’ and leading me, doing DIY, catching spiders, standing up for me. That’s only a few things. We don’t have a perfect marriage but being able to share life with someone you love is awesome. So seeing friends getting married and about to embark on this adventure together makes me so happy that I cry.

2) It reminds me of the promises I made when we got married and how I need to try harder in my marriage. We were 21 when we got married, mere kids, but we took the vows very seriously. And now, when I hear friends making those vows to each other, I am reminded of them. I remember that I need to love hubby more, forgive him quicker and serve him more than I do. That makes me cry, not because I don’t want to do it, but because it challenges me and I want to do a better job as his wife.

3) It’s a picture of Christ’s love for his church. In Ephesians 5:22-33, husbands are told to “love your wives, just as Christ loved the church and gave himself up for her.” What a challenge but what a picture!

4) I’ll cry at anything these days. It’s true. I’ll cry at films, songs, adverts when I never used to. I think it has something to do with hormones after giving birth, even if that was nearly 2 years ago. Maybe they never settle down!

So that’s why I cry at weddings. I didn’t cry at our wedding 7 years ago, not just because I hadn’t experienced marriage for myself, but because I was so happy (my dad said I smiled all day, and not just for photos!) and focused on making a commitment to hubby before God. I’d even forgotten that as the bride I would be centre of attention and everyone would look at me when I entered the church with my dad until it actually happened!

Leave a Reply

