Trivets made with fat quarters

The title of this post probably makes no sense to a lot of people!

A few weeks ago I asked for some help on how to use up some fat quarters. I didn’t have any responses on my actual blog but I did have some responses on Facebook.

My favourite idea was to make trivets or hot pads. So I set out to make them. I found a website which gives an easy tutorial. I bought quilting and backing fabric from a stall on the market in town. And I ended up buying more fat quarters when I went to a sewing shop to buy bias binding. There’s too much nice fabric out there!

Trivets
Four trivets with Handmade with Love ribbon

Out of one fat quarter I made four trivets. The fourth one I made was better than the first because the first had my first attempt at quilting and I hadn’t used bias binding for a few years. I added a loop rather than finishing off the bias binding properly because I thought it would look cute. I also bought some Bertie’s Bows ribbon which says ‘Handmade with love’ on it to sew on by hand to cover up any dodgy bits. In the picture above, the green is the backing fabric with the ribbon sewn on.

I love bias binding! It’s so easy once you’ve got the hang of it and finishes things off well. I used up all of it though so will have to buy some more and try desperately not to buy any more fabric.

I have made these as wedding gifts so, if you’re getting married later this year and we are coming, one of these is coming your way. I hope they’re useful and once in use you won’t be able to see my novice quilting skills anyway!

We’ve recently rearranged our spare room and I plan to make a few cushion covers to go in there. And a friend sent me a photo of a quilted table runner which looks really nice so I might have a go at that, especially as I have an awful lot of quilting left over.

4 thoughts on “Trivets made with fat quarters”

Leave a Reply

