The Great British Bake Off – Episode 3

Bread. I have to admit I haven’t made any bread for about a week due to various reasons and I felt terribly guilty watching GBBO on iPlayer last night where people were making bread! However, they weren’t making your average sandwich loaf so it wasn’t so bad.

I love watching how people knead their bread, the different flavour combinations they come up with and how lovely the bread looks. I don’t make fancy bread, partly because you can’t have a cheese sandwich with it, but I always want to give it a go when it comes to the bread episode. I’ve now got used to baking bread in the slow cooker so I don’t have to hang around waiting for dough to rise. Maybe one day I’ll have time to bake some proper bread.

Chuffed to see that Norman stays in the game next week. He is brilliant! Hubby has decided Luis is going to win. I am undecided.

Whilst watching the episode I had a lovely cup of tea made by hubby and one of these made by me:

20140820_123143
Strawberry cheesecake cupcakes

Maybe I should have been eating jam on bread given they were making bread this week, but these are so yummy! They are strawberry cheesecake cupcakes from my Hummingbird Bakery recipe book. There are chopped strawberries on the bottom of the cake cases, cupcake mix on top and cream cheese icing with bashed digestives on the very top. Mmmmmm. They have all been eaten, mostly by hubby but also by friends who came round for dinner last night.

On slow cooker bread, I recently saw someone had put their bread mix in a loaf tin and then put it in the slow cooker, so their loaf came out a normal shape. Might give this a go if I can get my hands on a silicone loaf tin as I don’t feel comfortable putting a normal tin in the slow cooker.

Leave a Reply

