The Great British Bake Off

Paul Hollywood & Mary Berry Photo courtesy of BBC
Paul Hollywood & Mary Berry
Original photo on BBC website here

It starts tonight. I am so excited.

For those not familiar, The Great British Bake Off is an amazing feat of television genius where amateur bakers take part in various baking challenges in the hope of being crowned Best Amateur Baker at the end of the competition. Paul Hollywood and Mary Berry are the judges, Sue Perkins and Mel Giedroyc are the presenters. There are random clips of squirrels. There is a history lesson on baking in every episode. It’s brilliant.

I have watched every series and have happy memories of feeding our son at 8pm on Tuesday evenings whilst watching the 2012 series. It’s certainly not something that I’m good enough to enter but it does fuel the passion for baking and provide inspiration for potential bakes.

Sadly, this year it is on Wednesday evenings which clashes with our Bible study group. However, the power of iPlayer comes into its own here and I will probably be giving my verdict on the night of baking a couple days later.

Anyway, tonight I will be settling down to watch it on my own as hubby will be out playing cricket and I imagine when it ends I will have the sudden urge to bake something amazing or just eat some cake. Can’t wait.

3 thoughts on “The Great British Bake Off”

  1. Hi Jenny! Did you enjoy it? Do you have a favourite, or thoughts on who might go far? Left me wanting to bake a Swiss roll last night!

Leave a Reply

