Dreaming of a bread maker?

It’s happened. After two and a half months of making my own bread in the slow cooker, yesterday I cracked.

I was kneading away and suddenly thought, wow, it would be so much easier to just use a bread maker. Yes, a bread maker.

The thing is, whilst kneading can be a very useful way of venting some of the stresses of the day, finding the 10 minutes to knead can be tricky with a small boy running around. Yes he does sleep, but after all that running around, I want to collapse too!

So yesterday I found myself imagining having a bread maker – putting the ingredients straight into the machine, switching it on and returning to a loaf of bread.

I don’t know if I’d really like to have a bread maker though. For a start, there’s no room in our kitchen for one. Also, I don’t know if it would have quite the same feeling of having made the bread yourself. I mean, all you do is put the ingredients in. Having said that, I say I’ve ‘made a cake’ when really I just mix a few ingredients together and put them in the oven. I had a quick look online and bread makers look quite expensive. It’s easier making bread in a slow cooker than by hand because, once kneaded, the slow cooker proves then bakes it so there’s no additional kneading, so I’m doing a slightly easier version already. But in a bread maker it would be even easier and the loaves come out square rather than oval, so you can cut triangle sandwiches for small boys.

I am amazed that in the last two and a half months I have only bought one loaf of bread. It hasn’t even been that hard really, I just have to make sure I remember to make the bread and find time to do it. And we’ve had a mix of breads. It was funny at the weekend when hubby wanted jam on toast and all we had was sun dried tomato and parmesan bread, though.

Maybe one day, if we move somewhere with slightly more kitchen space and I’m still making my own bread…

2 thoughts on “Dreaming of a bread maker?”

  1. We got one a while back and its great but we don’t have much work top space in our kitchen so it gets put in the pantry and forgotten about for too long. When we get a bigger kitchen I must use it more! Xx

Leave a Reply

