Closing in on the big 3-0 with more baking

I recently took another step towards turning 30. I’m now 28. I know, I know, still another two years to go. I could hardly believe it the other day when someone asked me how long I’ve been playing the piano and I could say ‘about 20 years’. How on earth am I able to say that?!

Anyway, my birthday fell quite nicely in the middle of hubby’s two weeks off work, so we took a trip to the seaside. I love going to the beach and having fish and chips and gelato. I think it’s because we don’t go to the beach very often. And it was lovely relaxing and watching the boys dig in the sand and splash in the sea. Then we stayed up late watching… You’ve Got Mail. As it was my birthday, I got to choose the film and it makes me smile every time. Hubby had made me chocolate fudge cake for my birthday cake too, so I had a week off baking… kind of.

During the last couple of weeks I have made: light wholemeal bread, rustic bread, rye bread (which our son really likes!) and I tried making up my own version of the sunflower seed spelt bread that I mentioned in a previous post. It wasn’t quite the same, but it still worked. In addition to these, I have made pizza dough to be cooked on a pizza stone in our BBQ, and pizza scrolls in the slow cooker.

Pizza on the BBQ
Pizza on the BBQ
Pizza scrolls
Pizza scrolls

 

 

 

Rustic bread
Rustic bread

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is all because hubby was off work so I had a bit more time to bake. And yet I didn’t bake anything sweet until this Sunday! I made this Raspberry Bakewell Cake to use up some raspberries. And this weekend I plan to make that yummy mango and lime cake as I finally found some big cake tin liners in Poundland.

Actually I made some ice cream, so not baking but it is sweet. I used this recipe from the BBC Food website as we had some bananas in the freezer (when our son decides he only wants half a banana and we don’t fancy eating the other half at that moment, I put the other half in the freezer to use for banana bread or something at a later date) and some buttermilk in the fridge for a recipe I didn’t get round to making. It worked a treat so I made some raspberry ice cream and some mango ‘instant’ ice cream using frozen fruit we already had and put them in the freezer for another day. One note – mango and vanilla extract do not work in this recipe. Thankfully, hubby is happy to eat it up but I think it tastes horrible!

One thought on “Closing in on the big 3-0 with more baking”

Leave a Reply

