Sicilian Pasta

Last night we were supposed to have ‘Sicilian pasta’ but, as hubby is recovering from illness and the dish contains chilli, we opted for something a bit simpler.

Sicilian pasta is based on pasta we had in Sicily 3 years ago, recipes from Giorgio Locatelli’s Made in Sicily recipe book, and my ‘creative flair’ (or inability to follow recipes). Like most Sicilian dishes, it’s really simple, cheap and based on only a few ingredients. I’m trying to work out if I can make a big batch in the slow cooker and freeze portions. I’m sure I could, I just need to sit down and think about it.

Hubby gets very excited when I say it’s Sicilian pasta for tea even though it’s such a simple meal. Below is the recipe that is normally in my head when I make it. I’ll post a photo when we actually get to eat it when hubby is 100%.

Sicilian Pasta
Serves 2
400g chopped tomatoes
2 cloves garlic, crushed
Green veg (broccoli, beans, peas)
1 50g tin anchovies
1 95g tin sardines (I use boneless, in olive oil)
Oregano
Black pepper
Pasta (enough for 2 people, depending on your appetite)

Cook pasta according to pack instructions. Whilst it’s cooking, put the chopped tomatoes in a pan and turn the heat up. After a few minutes, add the garlic. Add your chopped green veg. After a few more minutes, stir in the anchovies, breaking them up with the spoon. The chopped tomatoes should be less watery by now. Add the sardines. Season with lots of black pepper and oregano. Keep cooking until pasta is ready. Pour the cooked pasta into the pan with the tomato and sardines. Serve.

I love black pepper and oregano so I use a lot but you could use any mediterranean herb. And having typed that up I can’t see any chilli in the recipe. I now can’t remember if I use chilli! Next time I make it, I’ll see what happens and if chilli ends up in it, let you know.

I hope you enjoy it if you make it!

Leave a Reply

