Baking gone mad

All this bread making is going to my head… Last night I made the tortilla wraps for our turkey fajitas. I don’t even know where I got the idea from. I possibly thought it might save a few pennies. Anyway, I decided to give it a whirl and, thankfully, hubby was on hand to cook the contents of the fajitas whilst I cooked the tortilla wraps else we would have eaten rather late.

I used this recipe which says it serves six and I used olive oil instead of butter. Maybe I can’t roll dough effectively enough, but I only made six tortillas from the recipe. Perhaps it meant it made six. I don’t know, but as you can see from the photo, they weren’t that big or particularly round.

Odd shaped tortilla wrap
Odd shaped tortilla wrap

There must be some technique to rolling to a perfect circle, but I don’t know what it is. Despite all this, they tasted quite nice. They were a bit thicker than normal tortilla wraps so there must be a way to roll them thinner.

After the half success of the tortilla wraps, I needed to make something sweet for hubby’s lunchbox. For some reason I hadn’t planned ahead and we only had one egg so I raided our recipe books for a suitable recipe. I usually resort to cookies if we only have one egg but, as hubby is currently revising for exams, I thought he would prefer to have cake. Chocolate cake if possible.

Chocolate and Nutella cupcakes
Chocolate and Nutella cupcakes

I found a recipe for chocolate and Nutella cupcakes in the Hummingbird Bakery cookbook a friend gave me as a gift a few years ago, and decided that was the recipe I’d go with. Hubby turns his nose up at Nutella but I thought he might be ok with it in a cake.

They were quick to make and quick to bake, so I even did the icing which I usually avoid. I like eating icing, it’s just waiting around for cakes to cool and icing to set is something I don’t normally have time for. But I iced them. Madness. And I’d been up since 5.30am with our son so should have gone to bed in case I was going to have another day that started at 5.30am (which I did). I must really love you, hubby, and from what I hear, you love the cupcakes (and hopefully me, too).

Leave a Reply

