A trip down memory lane

About 15 years ago I went to Dovedale in Derbyshire with my family plus Uncle Barry, Nana and Pappy (my mum’s brother, mum and dad). I have very happy memories of this holiday. My parents, sister and I camped out in a field and Uncle Barry, Nana and Pappy stayed in a hotel or B&B nearby.

I remember climbing Thorpe Cloud with Uncle Barry and my sister and being given a challenge by him where a surprise was hidden on a rock in the middle of the river. I can’t remember if my sister or I got to the top of Thorpe Cloud first or which one of us got to the rock first, but I do remember having lots of fun!

Sadly, since that holiday Uncle Barry, Nana and Pappy have all passed away.

Whilst in the Peak District last week, hubby decided we’d visit Dovedale because I remembered it so fondly. On our way there I felt very emotional and when we drove down the lane towards the car park I started to cry. We had to sit in the car for a few minutes. But as soon as I got out of the car and saw Thorpe Cloud, the happy memories flooded back.

The stepping stones were there, the grass verges were there, and we walked for ages trying to find the rock. Hubby pointed out that 15 years is actually quite a long time and it may have eroded! In the end we took this photo of the first rock we saw as I couldn’t imagine it was any further down the river. I hope my parents have some photos of the holiday so I can find out if I found the right rock!

Leave a Reply

