The appraisal

I have now been at my current job for a year and next week have my first appraisal. I don’t just mean my first appraisal in this job, I mean my first appraisal ever! I have had discussions about how I’m doing a few months into a job, but never an official appraisal.

Last week I was sent the appraisal form – a series of questions for me to consider and answer. They were helpful questions. It’s good to sit down and think about what has been good, what has been bad, what I need to work on. It’s also a good opportunity to discuss any issues with my boss – have I got too much to do, too little to do, do I need help with anything. Likewise, he can tell me where he thinks I’ve done well, or not so well…

In theory it sounds like a great idea, but I haven’t actually had the appraisal yet. It’s on Monday. I know that some people don’t like appraisals because it means they have to look at their work and themselves critically. Others don’t like them because they are afraid of their boss. And others don’t like them because despite airing their views, nothing changes.

I think that even if a boss doesn’t change things after an appraisal, at least you have been able to make your views known. You’ve also had a chance to evaluate your work and areas that you need to work harder at. If you don’t have appraisals, ask your boss if you can have them. Even having not experienced one yet I can see the benefits and wish I’d had appraisals at my previous job.

I work in a lovely place with lovely people and I have a job that I enjoy, and I’m not just saying that in case my boss happens to randomly read my blog! Perhaps this makes the prospect of an appraisal slightly less scary.

One thought on “The appraisal”

Leave a Reply

