Cricket on 5

I remember when I first met my husband. It was the summer of 2005 and England were going to win the Ashes. He ran down the street in delight when England won one of the tests. I went home and watched the Ashes, trying to learn about cricket so that I could share his passion.

Six years later I don’t share his passion for cricket but I try to make note of when England are playing cricket and switch the TV over to channel 5 for the highlights at 7pm. Last night we did just that. I won’t comment on the cricket but I will comment on Mark Nicholas and Michael Vaughan talking at the end of the programme.

http://www.channel5.com/shows/cricket-england-v-sri-lanka-test-series/episodes/day-4-13

I noticed on Sunday evening when we were watching the cricket that when Michael Vaughan answers questions put to him by Mark Nicholas, he talks to Mark for a bit, then to the camera, then to Mark, then to the camera… I found it a bit off-putting and he has this cheeky smirk on his face when he looks at the camera! Last night Mark started doing it and when Vaughan was talking Mark couldn’t even look at him. Hubby and I were in hysterics. Watch it tonight – Channel 5, 7pm.

Oh, word of warning, they’ve changed the title music. I still sing the old title music over the top because they sound slightly similar and could almost be the same band.

Leave a Reply

