The Lord of The Rings!

I am a big Lord of the Rings fan. I also love Harry Potter. My husband dislikes both, partly because he can’t stand fantasy. But recently over the course of a week or so he let me watch all three Lord of the Rings films and he sat next to me through all of them. Not sure what he’s after…

I hadn’t watched all three in quick succession for a long time. I remember when the third film came out in the UK and I joined my best friend’s youth group to watch the extended versions of the first two films on DVD followed by a trip to the cinema to watch the third. It was an amazing day! 

Anyway, because I hadn’t watched them all in close succession for a while, I had forgotten how prominent the theme of pride is. I guess this was one of Tolkien’s main theme in the books, but I think Peter Jackson brings it out really clearly. I was taken aback at how each person in the fellowship and others are drawn towards the Ring for its potential ability to make them powerful. Yes they say that they can make things better with it, but really they want it so that they can say ‘I did that.’ Pride. They couldn’t see beyond the pride to the danger ahead.

Just think, as the Ring ‘spoke’ to each person, like the serpent did to Eve in the Garden of Eden, it convinced them of what they could do. But it didn’t say, ‘oh, and by the way if you take the Ring from Frodo you’ll be handing it back to Sauron for an age of evil.’

What a challenge for us to consider our motives and behaviour. Are we consumed with pride? Can we see the danger ahead?

One thought on “The Lord of The Rings!”

  1. You’ve made me want to watch them all again! I don’t think I’ve ever watched a whole one without falling asleep… mainly due to circumstance rather than the nature of the films!

Leave a Reply

