Autumn leaves

I loved this song at school…

***

Autumn days, when the grass is jewelled
And the silk in a chestnut shell
Jet planes meeting in the air to be refuelled
All these things I love so well
So I mustn’t forget
No, I mustn’t forget
To say a great big thank you
No, I mustn’t forget.

Clouds that look like familiar faces
And winter’s moon with frosted rings
Smell of bacon as I fasten up my laces
And the song the milkman sings.
So I mustn’t forget
No, I mustn’t forget
To say a great big thank you
No, I mustn’t forget.

Whipped-up spray that is rainbow-scattered
And a swallow curving in the sky
Shoes so comfy though they’re worn out and they’re battered
And the tasteof apple pie.
So I mustn’t forget
No, I mustn’t forget
To say a great big thank you
No, I mustn’t forget.

Scent of gardens when the rain’s been falling
And a minnow darting down a stream
Picked-up engine that’s been stuttering and stalling
And a win for my home team.

So I mustn’t forget
No, I mustn’t forget
To say a great big thank you
No, I mustn’t forget.

***
I loved that song. In fact I still hum it to myself sometimes. Admittedly it doesn’t say who we should thank for those things, but I assume it is God.

The sad thing is that in London the council cleans up the beautiful autumn leaves, puts them in plastic bags at the side of the road and then collects the bags. This saddens me. They didn’t do that in my day… I remember making big piles of leaves with my friends in the park and then jumping in it. I feel sorry for kids in London who don’t get to enjoy them!

Ok I understand the council may want the streets to be clean, perhaps a bit safer without wet leaves around (I slipped over on a wet leaf earlier this week), BUT my argument is that all of those beautiful colours make the streets look so inviting! I want to run down the street kicking all the leaves and pretending to be 10 again singing ‘Autumn days’!

Ahh to reminisce…

One thought on “Autumn leaves”

Leave a Reply

