Saving pennies vs. Spending review

First of all, I’d just like to say that I think George Osbourne could have auditioned to be Prof. Quirrell in Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone.

 

 

 

Yesterday was the UK government’s spending review. I haven’t looked at it all myself, but I thought that I would share with you why I started my mini series on saving pennies. I read about this guy on the BBC website who tried his own spending review the other day. I applaud his efforts but I am quite sure my motives are different to his.

I did not start the saving pennies series to coincide with budgets, spending reviews or anything like that. I decided to share my money saving tactics with those in recession because it’s something I’ve been doing lately. But I’m not saving money so that I can have a flash holiday or buy a fancy car or save up for new clothes. In reality most of us can live on a lot less than we have, we’ve just become accustomed to living lives of comparative luxury.

In fact, saving pennies means for my husband and I that we can save for buying a house one day and so on, but we are also Christians and want to support the work of churches we know and Christians we know who are doing Christian work and need support. We are in the privileged position of earning money, and we don’t take that lightly. Read 1 Timothy 6 for more on this.

I’m not saying this to be holier than thou, I’m just sharing why I have been watching my spending. We are in a recession and so everyone’s watching their spending a bit more, but the motivations are not all the same. After a food shop when I hear more coins than usual jingling in my purse, I feel satisfied that I have saved money, but not only that, I know that what I have saved will go towards an extremely worthwhile cause – the spread of the gospel of Jesus Christ.

Leave a Reply

